A Big Fat Shame…

I have been thinking about fat shaming this week. Recently there have been pictures circulating around social media and the papers of fit Mum’s with the “no excuses” hashtag. They are all the same story over and over again. A mum who has worked really hard for a six pack aptly calling herself “@Superabs” being ripped a part on social media for fat shaming and demeaning other women. I thought about my initial reaction to these pictures. I am envious! I am in awe! Am I demeaned? No! Am I personally happy with my body now? Yes and No. But, I hold my hands up and admit I don’t exercise as I should. Do I have any excuse for not exercising? I have five year old twins and I work full time in addition to my million other responsibilities. But, do I really have any excuses? No, I could get up earlier. I could have a run during my lunch hour. I could even pop in a dvd and exercise along with my children.

Am I going to beat myself up because I do not have “superabs”? Of course not. My body has been to hell and back. I spent most of my life as a size 32, carried twins to term at 350 pounds, lost nearly 200 pounds in the last two years. If not for extensive surgical intervention I would look every inch “road hard and put away wet” as my lovely mum used to say. My body is what it is. I will likely never have a body even remotely close to Superabs. But, who cares? Why would I attempt to put someone down for having something I don’t. Are the naysayers not doing to her exactly what they are accusing her of doing to them?

Throughout the last week due to my commenting on Twitter about “Superabs” I was targeted for my opinions. That I was some how not being very nice to my fellow sisters by not jumping on the anti-superabs bandwagon. I will be honest, I don’t understand how these women are fat shaming. They are celebrating an amazing amount of work that it must take to have that level of fitness. Would we ever tell a woman who posted a picture of her pregnant bump, that she is being demeaning to women unable to have children? Why not? Surely the logic is the same. You are showing off something another women may not ever be able to have. How very selfish. Same goes to the hundreds of pictures that I along with millions of other mums post of our children. What about that shot of the a friends new car that will show up on my newsfeed?

So, what exactly is it about these particular woman’s pride in their bodies that is like a red rag to a bull? Day in and day out we are all inundated with selfies on social media. Glam shots, no make up, too much make up, sunburned bums, wonky eyebrows, big asses, small asses, funky feet, women in all shapes and sizes in various states of dress and undress. None of these come with the amount of venom that a tanned physically fit mother gets. It would seem we have some extremely mixed messages about our bodies and what we are “allowed” to be proud of.

So, apparently the message we want to send out really is “Celebrate” (Insert body type here) as long as your body doesn’t in anyway make me feel inadequate about mine.

2 responses to “A Big Fat Shame…

  1. People get mad at superabs only because of how frustrating their own life seems! Make peace with your own life then you can appriciate other peoples accomplishments. Its kind of like being mad at Rudy!

  2. chantellerees13

    Hi there Melissa!

    I saw your story on the Daily Mail Online and I’m really interested in speaking to you.

    I’m a magazine writer with a company called Sell My Story – we write stories for women’s magazines. All the women’s magazines (like That’s Life, Bella, Pick Me Up etc) love publishing inspiring stories about weight loss, and with results like yours I think they’d be really interested in featuring you.

    We’d be able to negotiate you the highest possible fee (as of course you would be paid!) at the same time as ensuring you get absolute control over your story.

    It would never be published without your consent, and you’d also get full approval over the exact wording. Our services are free to you too, as our fees are paid by the magazines.

    Would you be interested in having a chat, so I can explain fully what it’s all about? No need to commit until you’re ready, you can take as much time as you need for a think.

    Let me know what you think,

    Kind regards,

    Chantelle x

Leave a Reply

