Detoxing Like a Boss

aloe snipAs you all know I have been through the most epic journey to lose weight.  As much as I try to keep my eye on the ball I struggle each and every day to keep myself on point.  It is a minute by minute battle of wills between me and the nearest pastry.  This is why I firmly believe that I am very much an addict and I accept the fact the urge to purge will always be there.  In the last few months I have been under a huge amount of stress and as a result I my old arch nemesis was straight in when I was at my most vulnerable and sadly I let him straight in.  I admit it, I fell off the wagon and more than that I proceeded to lay in front of that wagon and allowed it to run over me repeatedly.  So, with the taste of profiteroles still wafting from my swollen fingers I decided a detox was in order to reset my fat clock and get me back on track before I did any real damage to my waistline.

I had been reading about a plan called the Clean 9 Detox and ironically had just recently met Dean Johnson, a personal trainer who also  happened to be a distributor of the Forever Living products.  He explained that a large part of the detox was drinking their signature product, the Aloe Vera Gel.

posh fvlForever Living purports that  Aloe Vera has a number of health benefits, such as ; Cleansing and supporting your digestive tract, increasing your energy,  promotes cell renewal, hydrates your skin and supports a healthy immune system.  Dean went through the plan and was very upfront in telling me that
gel did not taste good and it was something I would need to get used to. But, having read that Victoria Beckham had done the Clean 9 and reportedly drinks the gel for it’s other health benefits surely I can do it!

With my box of tricks in hand I set off to detoxville.  The detox itself is broken down into two segments as follows:

Day 1-2

Breakfast

2x Forever Garcinia Plus Softgel (taken 20 minutes before the Forever aloe Vera Gel)
4 oz Forever Aloe Vera Gel (with a minimum of 8 oz of water)
1x Forever Therm Tablet
30 minutes of excersice

Snack:  Packet Forever Fibre mixed with 250 mls of water

Lunch

2 Garcinia Softgels
4 oz Forever Aloe Vera Gel followed by 8 oz water
1 Forever Therm Tablet
1 Scoop Forever Lite Ultra mixed with water, skimmed, nut milks.  (I used almond milk)

Dinner

2 Garcinia Softgels
4 oz Forever Aloe Vera Gel followed by 8 oz water

Evening Snack

4 oz Forever Aloe Vera Gel followed by 8 oz water

Throughout the day to keep hunger away you are allowed a list of free fruits and veg which literally was the reason there were no fatalities during this endeavour.  I had the vanilla shakes which were really lovely.  As you can see much of the first two days is all about the aloe vera gel.  Now as I said Dean was very honest about the taste.  The reason for the taste is due to it being a completely natural and pure product.  I honestly was not prepared for the taste.  4 ounces is more than a mouthful, so the idea of drinking it like a shot was out of the question.  It is hard to describe the taste, which is not helped by the egg white like texture.  It is extremely bitter.  But, determined to persevere I plugged my nose and chocked it down.  It was not easy, but trying to keep the benefits in mind I got through it.  I think trying to get the gel down was much harder then keeping on the “cleanse”.  But, I managed it and survived to see day 3 when I would be allowed a 600 calorie meal.

Days 3-9

Breakfast

2 Garcinia Softgels
4 oz Aloe Vera Gel
1 Therm Tablet
1 Scoop Forever Lite Ultra
Minimum of 30 minutes of exercise

Snack

1 Packet Forever Fibre

Lunch

2 Garcinia Plus Softgels
1 Forever Therm Tablet
1  Scoop Forever Lite Ultra

Dinner

2 Garcinia Plus Softgel
600 Calorie Meal

The 600 calorie meal although stated as a dinner could be eaten at any time of the day.  Most of the time I used the calories for two 300 calorie meals as I found that easier to manage.  The detox itself was not difficult to stick to primarily because of the free foods allowance.  Like any plan that severely restricts your food intake it takes a lot of willpower.  But, my increasing energy levels were a great incentive to carry on.   I never managed to get used to the taste of the gel and I honestly struggled to the last dose getting it down.  As part of this process I did search for Aloe gel converts for advice about getting over the taste.  I had loads of great advice and spoke to countless people who told me that the benefits they have received far outweigh how difficult it is to drink.  Everyone I spoke to when researching the product was happy with the gel and advised that after taking it daily for 2-4 weeks they grew used of the taste.  But, I don’t want to focus on that bit too much because obviously like with everything we all have different tastes and what is not good for me maybe a pleasure for someone else.  The end result is what it’s about.  The fact is there are many people that have had some amazing results with aloe vera gel.  Statistically 51% of the sales with this company come from the sale of the gel as a stand alone product.  Anything that can benefit your health is obviously worth doing.  But, in my own experience I found it challenging.  Keeping in mind I was doing this for 9 days.  Had I been doing a more extended cleanse or taking it for other reasons I may have got used to it.

But, the proof is in the pudding as they say.  After 9 days doing the cleanse I definitely had a marked increase in energy.  I lost 7 pounds and 9 inches over my entire body.  Spurred on by the results I have since been trying to eat as clean as possible.  It was a tough week, but definitely doable.

If you would like more information about Clean 9 you can contact Dean Johnson via Facebook  or on Twitter @ForeverHFL

Leave a Reply

