The Magnificent Melanin

As someone who is historically melanin deficient I had become used to haunting the High Street with my ghostly whiteness.   I remember many, many moons ago at University having a crush on a very blond boy from Sweden. I had no chance anyway, but always thought if we did get together our collective paleness would create a litter of transparent babies that would have to be kept in brightly coloured babygros so we didn’t lose them.  I attempted to tan over the years. Occasionally trying actual sun, sunbeds (shhh don’t tell anyone) and of course a variety of oddly smelling concoctions that meant I left Mel shaped orange outlines in my sheets every time I slept.

Following years of trial and error I could only come to one indisputable truth and that is I do not tan.  I pink! I red! I orange! But, I do not tan.  So, when an extremely enthusiastic Lisa Stewart and Lisa Helena contacted me about trying their Star Tanning, I thought what’s the worst thing that can happen?  I’d been orange enough times to know how to ditch a fake tan in a hurry if it went wrong.

The bottom line is the sun is not safe.  Real or fake, cooking yourself for a bit of colour at the worst will give you cancer.  At best will leave you looking like a bit of naugahyde. Which is fine if you are a sofa. But, although I occasionally have too much junk in the trunk I would rather not be mistaken for furniture or someone’s handbag.

The two Lisa’s I have to say at this point are very inspirational in their own right.  Amazing women with a truly entrepreneurial spirit.  The passion and enthusiasm they have for their products is absolutely infectious.

11040441_10153275500085955_1891270427_oThe first thing that makes Star Tanning different is the smell.  It is a gorgeous watermelon.  The formula in Star Tanning products are vegetable based and all natural. Amazingly, I did not orange!  Actual bronze!  I was amazed by the results of this product.  There are three parts to the system;  The  PH Balancing Preparation Spray, which is exclusive to Star Tanning adjusts the PH of the skin reducing dry patches and uneven tone.  Part two is the tanning mousse which could not be easier to apply.  It is brown so you cannot mess it up. From my experience it is pretty idiot proof.  Part three is a finishing spray that helps prolong the life of the tan.

13000139_10154192534530955_2642380832113836443_n

The system is easy to use and the results are amazing. I have been using it religiously all summer.  I have even been experimenting with using the tan for contouring.  It has definitely become a regular part of my beauty routine.  I love it and have not been to a tanning salon for a spray since receiving this system.   

I have news that the girlies are launching an after tan tracksuit!  This is huge!! I cannot wait to get my hands on one!!  Watch this space for the review.  But, I have no doubt it will be amazing.

One response to “The Magnificent Melanin

  1. After reading this I am in tears of laughter as well as pride Mel. We are so happy you love the Star Tanning range and so so appreciative of your blog review. Means the world xxx

Leave a Reply

